The Colorado cannabis laws are fairly simple. Here are the answers to the most common questions when it comes to cannabis in Colorado.
In 2012 the Amendment 64 was passed in the State of Colorado, this made it legal for an adult over the age of 21 to legally buy, possess, and consume marijuana recreationally. Colorado is one of two places in the world that has legalized recreational use of marijuana. However, you are not allowed to consume marijuana in public. You can only consume marijuana in private or at a licensed marijuana spot.
Although cannabis is legal, there are still Colorado dispensary laws and regulations that you will need to know to keep you out of trouble.
The Colorado possession laws are different laws depending on whether you have a medical card or if it’s for recreational use.
You may purchase up to 28 grams of marijuana in a single transaction. And are allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis flowers, or 8 grams of concentrate, or 800 mg of edibles.
Concentrates are also known as hash, marijuana concentrate, wax, resin or shatter. Both medical and recreational marijuana stores can purchase 8 grams of concentrate per day for patients and customers over 21 years of age. However if you are between the ages of 18 and 20, you are limited to purchasing 2 grams per day.
You can purchase a mix of these products, however it’s important that a licensed recreational marijuana store helps you determine what the legal and acceptable limits are for each purchase.
With a medical marijuana prescription you can legally up to 2 oz. of a usable form of marijuana; and cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants, with no more than 3 being mature, flowering plants that are producing a usable form of marijuana. However, with legitimate medical needs, you may possess more.
You’ll need to create an account with the Colorado patient portal to begin the process, using your private email address.
To begin the process you’ll first need to have a licensed professional tell you if you qualify for a medical marijuana card. This medical evaluation can cost between $75–$100.
The physician must meet certain criteria to recommend medical marijuana:
Once you have the recommendation you can then apply online. You’ll pay a $15.00 processing fee which can be paid by credit card or electronic check using your bank account and routing number.
There are specific Colorado med card qualifications that you must meet to obtain your medical marijuana card. Some of these qualifications include age restrictions, valid proof of required information and a specific medical condition.
In order to get a medical cannabis card you must be 18 years or older and prove your Colorado residency with a Colorado state driver’s license or ID. You’ll also need a valid Social Security number, and have a qualifying medical condition with recommendation from a licensed physician.
Here are the qualifying conditions for medical card in Colorado:
In order for a dispensary to open they will need to obtain a Colorado dispensary license. You must understand the Colorado dispensary laws before you enter a dispensary. There are limits when it comes to age, purchase amounts and how much you have in your possession.
No, you cannot purchase from a dispensary at 18 years old. At least not without having a medical card. There are even some Colorado dispensary rules that prevent you from entering the building if plants or products can be seen from the lobby without having a valid ID showing that you are at least 21 years old.
While you are limited to how much cannabis you can purchase in a single purchase, you are able to purchase from multiple dispensaries in a single day. However, it is important that you are aware of how much you are allowed to have in your possession. If you do not have a medical-marijuana card you can possess no more than an ounce of marijuana at a time.
Possession of more than the Colorado limits is a level 1 misdemeanor with a fine between $500 and $5,000 dollars and possible imprisonment between 6 and 18 months.
A Colorado minor in possession of marijuana can face a minor-in-possession charge such as fines, public service, education and intervention, loss of a driver’s license, and misdemeanor or felony charges.
There is no lack of cannabis dispensaries in the state of Colorado. You can do a simple search online to find cannabis dispensaries nearby, and some of them may offer delivery options as well. You’ll want to choose a dispensary that is reputable with top quality products for the best experience.
If you’ve never purchased from a dispensary before you’ll want to choose a dispensary that is knowledgeable on their products. This will help you find the best products for you based on their side effects, and the condition you’re treating.
At Verts we can help you obtain your medical card at no cost to you. We’ll direct you in the right direction when choosing the best strains or products to provide you with relief for your condition without unwanted side effects that some products can have.
Verts Neighborhood Dispensary 2023 | All Rights Reserved
Designed, Developed & Powered by: