What happens now that Missouri legalized recreational marijuana?

The time has finally come for Missouri residents to enjoy the use of recreational marijuana. There were moments throughout the campaign to legalize recreational marijuana that didn’t seem promising. But Missouri residents will finally be able to legally use marijuana recreationally after Amendment 3 was approved with 53% support.

Here’s everything that you can expect with the Missouri recreational marijuanas law:

missouri-marijuana-laws

Can you smoke marijuana recreationally in Missouri?

Yes, as a recreational marijuana user you can smoke weed without having a medical card. But there are however laws that you’ll need to follow in order to keep out of trouble while still enjoying your recreational weed usage.

Don’t expect to light up just anywhere. The use of recreational weed is limited to your private residence. Using any type of cannabis products in public can result in unwanted consequences.

What does Amendment 3 change about marijuana laws in Missouri?

Under the Amendment 3, you will be allowed to purchase cannabis if you are at least 21 years old. However it is prohibited to use any form of marijuana in public or drive under the influence.  

Here are some of the Missouri weed rules that are under the Amendment 3:

Amendment 3 Summary

Under the Amendment 3 for Missouri residents recreational marijuana has been legalized for the purchase, possession, consumption, use, delivery, manufacturing, and sale of marijuana for personal use.

  • You must be 21 years and older: to possess, purchase, consume and cultivate marijuana.
  • Automatic expungement: Missourians with nonviolent marijuana-related offenses will automatically have their criminal records expunged. 
  • There will be a boost in state tax revenues: Expect there to be a 6% state tax on all retail sales of marijuana. This will cover administrative expenses, and the costs to process automatic expungements. The remaining surplus if any will go towards veterans’ healthcare, drug addiction treatment, and Missouri’s underfunded public defender system.
  • New business licenses: Seeks to broaden industry participation by small business owners and among disadvantaged populations, including those with limited capital, residents of high-poverty communities, service-disabled veterans, and those previously convicted of non-violent marijuana offenses.
  • Lottery: All new medical marijuana license holders will be selected at random, by lottery.

Improved Missouri medical marijuana program: The amount of time that medical marijuana patient and caregiver ID cards are valid will be extended from one to three years for $25. The current cost is $100 for Missourians who choose to grow medical marijuana at home; this will also be reduced to nearly half and the expiration period will be extended to three years.

Missouri recreational marijuanas law

Here are some the Missouri marijuana laws you’ll need to know before enjoying your recreational weed:

  • You must be over the age of 21 and you’re allowed to possess up to three ounces of cannabis and cultivate up to six flowering plants, six immature plants, and six plants under 14 inches for your own personal use. 
  • Recreational use does not allow you to smoke in public. 
  • You are not allowed to sell or distribute to anyone under the age of 21. 

As long as you follow these laws you’ll be fine.

START SHOPPING NOW

Medical marijuana vs recreational marijuana in Missouri

Most of Amendment 3 has revolved around the legalization of marijuana for recreational use There have been some changes related to the medical marijuana program. Many of the changes related to the use of marijuana for medical reasons are mainly geared towards employers. However, one of the major differences between the two is the amount of marijuana you are allowed to possess. Under the amendment, recreational users are able to possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana, while medical patients are allowed to possess up to 6 ounces.

Here are some of these changes for employers,

  • New Employment Protections for Certain Medical Marijuana Users. This specifically prohibits discrimination against hiring a person that has a valid medical marijuana card, or someone who tests positive for marijuana during a drug test if the person is a valid qualifying patient identification card.
  • Workplace Impairment/Possession Can Be Prohibited. As an employer you can continue to discipline or terminate an employee if they are using, possessing or under the influence of marijuana on the premises of the place of employment.
  • Federal Contract or Licensing Exceptions. Employers are allowed to take adverse action against medical marijuana employees if they cause an employer to lose a monetary or licensing-related benefit under federal law.

As for the provisions of Amendment 3 when it comes to the legalization of recreational marijuana there are some disciplinary actions that are permitted for an employer of individuals that use marijuana for recreational purposes. 

  • Workplace Use/Possession Can Be Prohibited. Employers are allowed to prohibit the use and possession of marijuana in the workplace or employer’s property.
  • Workplace Impairment Can Be Prohibited. As an employer you may prohibit employees from working under the influence of marijuana and take adverse action against the employees that use while at work. 

Driving While Under The Influence. All individuals are prohibited from operating any motor vehicle or other motorized form of transport while under the influence of marijuana.

Can you cultivate recreational marijuana in Missouri

Yes as one of the 21st states that has legalized recreational marijuana. Missourians that are 21 and older are allowed up to six flowering plants, six nonflowering plants (plants over 14 inches) and six clone plants (plants under 14 inches). You will however be required to apply for a cultivation license. 

When can you buy recreational marijuana in Missouri

As of right now the biggest question has been, when is Missouri recreationally legal to purchase. Doesn’t seem like it is soon enough, but it won’t be much longer. 

As of right now it is still illegal to purchase recreational marijuana in the state of Missouri. It generally takes 30 days for the amendment to be adopted which puts you at early January before it is officially added to the Missouri Constitution

After the 30 days of the amendment being adopted the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services will make application forms and instructions available. This will allow you to get personal cultivation registration cards. Then after another 30 days, the department will begin accepting applications for the registration cards.

Around early February you can expect to begin purchasing recreational marijuana in Missouri.

When will recreational dispensaries open in Missouri?

Recreational dispensaries in Missouri could legally sell recreational marijuana products or possibly grow their own marijuana is when it has been approved by the state. This is expected to happen on Feb. 6, 2023. 

Verts is a Missouri recreational dispensary. We provide a wide selection of marijuana products along with extensive knowledge of all of our products. When it comes to recreational marijuana Missouri residents should know how the products will affect them, how certain products can help them, and which ones provide the results that you are looking to achieve. 

As a Missouri marijuana recreational dispensary we take pride in our products and the community that we serve. Our staff will be happy to help you find exactly what you’re looking for whether it’s flowers, concentrates, edibles, pre-rolls, topicals, dabs, or more you’ll find that both our online store and physical store has what you want.

Scroll to top